FOTD: Candy Cane Dreams

I had seen the idea for candy cane eyeliner on Pinterest and fallen in love with the idea. Then when a colleague asked me if I’d seen the concept I knew it was something I had to recreate! I’m pretty sure this colleague doesn’t even know I blog, just knows that I’m makeup obsessed haha


I would absolutely have loved to create this with glitter – can you imagine how gorgeous that would have been. Time and money didn’t really allow for this though so pencil liners and eyeshadow were what I ended up using!

Base

  • Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation in 52 Vanilla
  • Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in Warm Medium 3
  • Makeup Revolution Iconic Lights & Contour Pro
  • Makeup Revolution Ultra Blush Palette in Hot Spice
  • Phee’s Makeup Shop Pressed Highlight in Original

Eyes

  • Absolute New York Eyeshadow Primer
  • Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder in Transparent
  • Makeup Revolution New-trals vs Neutrals Eyeshadow Palette
  • Zukreat Artist of Makeup Eyeshadow in St. Tropez
  • Makeup Geek Eyeshadow in Cherry Cola
  • Phee’s Makeup Shop Pressed Highlight in Original
  • MUA Intense Colour Eyeliner in Snow White
  • Illamasqua Medium Pencil in Fiesty
  • Sleek Makeup iDivine Eyeshadow Palette in Ultra Matts V1
  • NYX Ultimate Shadow Palette in Brights
  • MeMeMe Eye Line Eye Pencil in Clay
  • MaxFactor False Lash Effect Mascara in Black

Eyebrows

  • MAC Eyeshadow in Omega
  • Makeup Revolution Ultra Brow Arch & Shape
  • ModelCo More Brows in Light Medium

Lips

  • Nudestix Lip and Cheek Pencil in Mystic

To create the liner I first applied the white and red liners in alternating strips. Then I tried using a brush to pack powder on top, which wasn’t massively effective! I then used a cotton bud to push the powder into the liner, which actually worked! With the white I did a few layers of liner then shadow to build up the intensity before lightly blending the upper edge with a fine brush.

I was really impressed with how this turned out. It’s not the most bold impact look but it’s a pretty little festive touch that didn’t take too long!

Have you tried any of the Christmas Pinterest makeup ideas? I’m glad I tried this one!

xo Fleur xo

2 thoughts on “FOTD: Candy Cane Dreams

    • floribundar says:

      Same and neither do I really! I’m forever screenshotting beautiful makeup looks that I want to take inspiration from and I never do – it’s so hard to find time when most of the time I have to wear moderately sensible makeup.
      It was actually pretty quick, I was pleasantly surprised! Xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

