Why does being a wedding guest cost so much?

I don’t want to be a complete bitch with this post but there’s a little something I want to get off my chest. We all know that weddings have got a bit out of hand cost-wise but I wouldn’t say this is just for the bride and groom… It’s really expensive as a guest too.

My slightly happy, slightly peeved wedding-guest-makeup face below 😛

I’ve been to a few hen-do’s now and they seem to be getting more expensive each time. The latest is going to be costing £200 before I’ve even travelled there or potentially bought any necessary clothes… Which sure, it’s a weekend away with activities but £200 is a lot of money to me! I’m just glad that no one has suggested travelling abroad for one yet.

Then there is buying an outfit for the wedding, which I know we don’t have to do but often ends up happening – especially with photos being posted on Facebook. I’ve bought my last two wedding guest dresses from Primark and Sainsbury’s and I’ve managed to get two wears out of each so far, so I don’t feel too resentful of this.

Alongside this is the wedding gift which is eternally awkward (I hope you enjoy that pun as much as I am right now). Obviously you have to get them something, but how much do you spend? Especially when they’re asking for cash and you can’t just choose a couple of things from the wedding list. I feel like a cheapskate but £30 has tended to be my amount of choice… Is that awful?

Then there is the cost of getting to the wedding, diesel isn’t cheap after all. Also, potentially staying if it’s a long journey (or even if it’s not that far but you want to be able to have a drink or just relax without an hour drive at the end of the day), that’s easily £100. Never mind that wedding venues never have cheap drinks even if you just want a diet coke – oh and it will be tiny.

I miss the days when I was a child and I didn’t have to save for other people’s weddings. Which I literally am, right now. Maybe I’m a bitch, I’m probably stingy, potentially miserable too but I just don’t earn enough to spend the £600 ish I’ve spent on other people’s weddings this year. I’m pretty sure there are people out there who are struggling more than I am to afford this too. It’s lovely and amazing to be invited, but… GAH! It’s hard.

xo Fleur xo

P.S. I’ve already posted one haul and I’ll be posting another soon which seems very hypocritical after this post but having spent no money in August I did go a little wild with my Aug/Sept pay!

Leave a Reply

