DIY: Tinted Moisturiser

I love tinted moisturiser / BB cream for my everyday makeup but I haven’t been using up my foundations as a result – so when I finished my last tube of BB cream I decided to give something else a go. I can’t waste makeup, that’s got to be the first sin right? I also had approximately no money having had to buy new tyres for my car, so no new BB cream for me… I thought I’d let you know the results as I’m kind of in love with what I’ve discovered!

The first option is one I’ve used for years now; mixing two good scoops of the Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer (I use the shade warm medium) with your normal amount of moisturiser. Mixing it with the Rimmel Fix & Protect SPF25 Makeup Primer also works so well. This gives a really good coverage matte tinted moisturiser that stays put SO well, I’m talking all day and night. In fact this works with a lot of the liquid concealers, just for my combo/oily skin that matte finish is so gorgeous! By scoop I take the wand and roll it on the back of my hand to get as much product off as possible.

The second option uses the Rimmel Fix & Protect SPF25 Makeup Primer, L’Oreal Glam Bronze Eau de Soleil and Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation in True Ivory. As you can see below, I mix a small squeeze of the primer and an almost full pump of the foundation with some of the Eau de Soleil. How much of the Eau de Soleil I use depends on how dark I want my foundation – the more I use, the darker the result. To get it from the bottle you place your finger over the top and shake – I usually do this three times, wiping the product onto my hand each time. Then I just swirl together and apply.

As both the primer and foundation have SPF I know I’m not diluting the protection too much with the bronzer, which is a bonus! Plus I get multiple different benefits from mixing these products: an overall skin shield from the primer, the general gorgeousness of the foundation and the luminosity, bronzing and silky feel from the bronzer.

It’s also so easy to apply, I’ve used these products all separately in the same way and it doesn’t look half as good. Somehow the combination is just stunning, it removes any possibility of that foundation cake face. It also makes for a quick application and has a similar feel on the skin to a tinted moisturiser, albeit one I use an actual moisturiser underneath.

Horribly I think the L’Oreal Glam Bronze Eau de Soleil is discontinued in the form I have it but hopefully this L’Oreal Glam Bronze Cushion Soleil is similar. Potentially the Revlon PhotoReady Skinlights Face Illuminator in Bronze Light could work in a similar way, or any other liquid bronzer.

Do you have any favourite ways of mixing products? Or do you prefer to use products as they are?

xo Fleur xo

3 thoughts on “DIY: Tinted Moisturiser

Leave a Reply

