Jaffa the Cake

I absolutely love Jaffa cakes, on my list of treats they are pretty near the top. Simply because they are so darn tasty. I think the taste of orange, chocolate and cake all together is what makes it for me. So in the back of my mind I’ve always wanted to make a Jaffa cake inspired cupcake.

When I made the cakes for Moon last month I realised how good a jammy topping could be. Then I thought marmalade and the concept of a Jaffa cupcake got brought to the forefront of my mind and had to me made.

Ingredients

 
Cake 
 
110g soft butter
110g caster sugar
110g self raising flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
2 tbsp milk
2 eggs
Zest of 1/2 an orange
Topping
 
200g marmalade
100g milk chocolate (or chocolate of choice)
Method
 
For the cake:
  1. Preheat oven to 180C/gas 4. Place 12 muffin cases into a muffin tin.
  2. Weigh all the cake ingredients into a bowl.
  3. Mix using a hand held cake whisk for 3 minutes. Until fully combined and fluffy.
  4. Put one heaped tablespoon of cake mixture into each muffin case. Divide any leftovers out between the cases.
  5. Bake for 15 – 20 minutes or until golden and the top rises when gently depressed.
  6. Move onto a wire rack to cool.
  7. Once cooled, cut the top off any cake that has risen in a cone shape so as to leave a flat top.

 

For the topping:
 
  1. Place the marmalade in a pan and simmer for roughly 10 minutes or until considerably thickened.
  2. Place a few teaspoons worth on top of each cake. Spread out using the teaspoon.
  3. Leave to set for 5 minutes.
  4. Meanwhile, break the chocolate into chunks and place in a microwaveable bowl. Slowly melt (I do 1 minute then 30 second blasts stirring between each).
  5. Place 2 teaspoons worth of chocolate onto each cake and spread gently with a teaspoon. Try not to disrupt the marmalade beneath but still get an even coating.

 

I got a whole load of positive feedback on them so they’re definitely worth a bake if you’re a Jaffa cake fiend like me!
Fleur xoxo
2 thoughts on “Jaffa the Cake

Leave a Reply

