Quick Thursday Review: La Roche-Posay Hydraphase Intense Legere

As I neared the end of this product (I have one use left!) I realised how much I wanted to review it. Whilst I have combination-oily skin on my face, that doesn’t mean my skin doesn’t get dehydrated. In fact, it appears to be dehydrated a lot of the time. This may be something I am lacking in my diet and I am investigating that, however, in the short term it is relatively easy to rehydrate the skin topically. In fact, even if my diet is adjusted what with central heating and the wild British weather, my skin will potentially still get dehydrated.

Then, Ruth Crilly from A Model Recommends talked about this product in her January favourites and I realised it was about time I got this review up! This is a product I took a chance on that I do think should be talked about more. 
I use this as a serum at night underneath my moisturiser.

Let’s start, as usual, with the negative points. As always there are some suspect ingredients: alcohol denat, dimethicone and fragrance. I really don’t appreciate the presence of denatured alcohol in my skin care, I know exactly why companies use it but it’s unnecessary. My skin doesn’t usually have a problem with dimethicone or fragrance but if yours does, this is unlikely to be for you. Luckily the fragrance isn’t strong, so it’s not off-putting. 
Also, initially, for the first week or so I didn’t see much in the way of results. However, once I got past those first few days, I really could see a difference in my skin. 
Apart from that all the rest are positives:

  1. At £16.50 for 50ml via escenctual.com, it isn’t horribly expensive and it does last a long time. 
  2. It comes in an air tight pump, this ensures the active ingredients stay active. Even better, said pump doesn’t leave half the product behind. Even if I hacked it open I’d probably only get one more use. 
  3. It feels light on the skin. 
  4. Apparently ‘infuses and locks water in’ – it feels like it does. Especially if you apply it straight over a light spritz of toner. 
  5. Paraben free. 
  6. Claims of ’24hr intense rehydration’ – it certainly feels very hydrating and re-plumps out the dehydrated areas of my skin. 
  7. In fact when I compare applying it at night to not applying it, my skin the next morning is visibly different looking. 
  8. Contains hyaluronic acid fragments. 
  9. It ‘helps reinforce the cellular cohesion to help the skin retain water durably’. I can’t see the skin cells on my face unfortunately – or perhaps fortunately, I wouldn’t really want to be able to see microscale objects in my daily life! Anyway, over the time I used it my skin did appear to stay hydrated longer. Which considering I started using it at the end of summer right through to winter is the time my skin should be getting more dehydrated. 
  10. Finally, it doesn’t cause me to break out. Always a bonus! 
I would definitely recommend this product if you have dehydrated skin. I am trying Hydraluron next, so it will be interesting to see how the two compare. Have you tried either? 
Fleur xoxo
Leave a Reply

