January 2014 Beauty Favourites

I haven’t done a beauty favourites post in absolutely ages. As such, it was definitely a post that was overdue. So, here we are! January always seems like a slow month to me. Hurting my knee and therefore having a week off in the middle of the month made it even longer. I’m not complaining though as this meant I got loads done and loads of scheduled posts.
I have resumed my masters in Earth Science now, so I will most likely have a lot less time for blogging as I will need to be studying. Hopefully though I will manage to keep putting up two posts a week. Even if that means scheduling ages in advance. I could go for writing really short posts but I think we all know that isn’t going to happen.
On to the favourites and here they all are!
Makeup

MAC’s Fleur Power: The perfect blush for an everyday healthy look. Just after Christmas I definitely did not look healthy and this was perfect for adding a natural flush to my cheeks. It lasts all day long, is really pigmented yet easy to apply and is the perfect shade for paler skin.
Smashbox Fusion Softlights in Baked Stardust: My current highlight of choice. The fact that I have hit pan on this shows how consistently I’ve been using it over the past few months. Adding a beautiful gleam to the cheekbones I cannot get enough of this. I would prefer it if it was slightly more gold in tone for my skin but I can pick out the more golden tones for when I really want that.
Beautiful Movements Beautiful Lips in 4513: The nude for me. It is unlikely I will ever try another nude lipgloss. This is relatively thick in a creamy way but entirely non-sticky. It lasts, doesn’t catch in any lip creases, moisturising… I’m in love.
Me Me Me Cherub’s Blush: This was my go-to winter party lip. Adding a stain to my lips just made everything so easy. The fact that it was literally the perfect rosy lip… Even better. That it also works beautifully as a blush for those days when you want to look like you’ve been for a walk… Ideal. Plus its insanely cheap for the quality and feel of the product. Benefit eat your heart out 😛
Emite Makeup Eyeshadow in Nect: The eyeshadow I wore to work every day in the month of January. The eyeshadow I can’t imagine not owning. I’ve done a FOTD with it which will be up near the end of the month talking about it more and I reviewed it earlier on in this month. Gorgeous. 
Smashbox Brow Tech in Blonde: On the days I have time to fill my brows in with a little more precision this is just perfect. Two shades that I can mix together to suit my hair, making the arch a little darker to give myself naturally beautiful brows. I never feel as beautiful as when I have filled in my brows with this. 
Smashbox Brow Brush: This is a slightly fatter brush that allows you to pick up more product and really wiggle the powder into the brow hairs. It makes it far quicker and more natural looking than using a standard angled brush. I wouldn’t be without it for applying brow powder. Even if you have a favourite brow powder, I’d recommend giving this a go, it made powder an option for me. 
Rimmel Lycra Pro Nail Varnish in Blue Vogue: Navy nails was all I wanted in January. These last and last, even with my tendency to chip nails within an hour of application. The colour is so deep yet under a strong light you can see it is full of depth and sparkle. It is an old one but if they still make it, go for it. Also, navy is the ideal mix of goth/vamp/fashion for me. 
The Body Shop Hemp Hand Protector: Saving my hands one application at a time. I’ve reviewed it here if you want to know more. 
Jo Malone Pomelo: I’ve fallen in love and I’ve fallen hard. This scent reminds me of luxury spas and grapefruit and summer in Greece. Pretty evocative. A sample I will most likely (unfortunately for my bank balance) be repurchasing. 
Original Source Mint and Tea Tree Shower Gel: Oh. My. God. This shower gel is something else. It wakes me up, leaves me feeling fresh, helps keep my keratosis pilaris at bay, leaves my skin clean but not too dry and smells just divine. I’ve just finished it and I want more. 
What were your favourites? Do link me to them! I love to have a read.
Fleur xoxo
One thought on “January 2014 Beauty Favourites

Leave a Reply

