FOTN: Taking Inspiration From Instagram

On the whole it is bad form to start with a rhetorical question as before you’ve made your point, people will probably just shrug and not care to answer. Though obviously it being rhetorical, you don’t want an answer, you want them to want to answer. However, I’m talking to you and I believe that means that when I ask,

‘do you ever have those days when you feel the need to try and look as beautiful as you possibly can?’
You’d answer me – in your head – straight away, you’re reading a (largely) beauty blog, you are the right audience for that question. Do you agree?

Back to the more pressing point of the makeup now! 

I went out for dinner last night and felt the real need to dress up and look as beautiful as I could. One reason being that I hadn’t done an evening makeup look in a long time and the other was that I felt like impressing. 
So, taking inspiration from the amazing artists on Instagram, I went for a slightly Arab inspired look. I didn’t go all out because I was going for dinner and didn’t want to look scary (which I think Arab inspired makeup on a white girl can look). I love what I created and I can’t wait, when actually going out, to do an absolutely full on look – false eyelashes and everything. I want to look amazing. 
I wore this look out with the Korres Tinted Lip Butter in Wild Rose, which was a little tame but then I was about to eat! When I came in and took photos, I realised how good MACs Rebel would look with it. 

Base
Benefit The Porefessionals
Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation In 103 True Ivory
Maybelline Dream Lumi Touch Highlighting Concealer in 01 Ivory
Smashbox Photo OP Under Eye Brightener
Boots Natural Collection SunTint Bronzing Powder in Sun Shine
Rimmel Stay Matte Long Lasting Pressed Powder in 001 Transparent
Boots Natural Collection Blushed Cheeks in Sugar Plum
Eyes
Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer 
MAC e/s in Naked Lunch – all over lid and inner corner
MAC e/s in Club – outer corner, winged out bottom and top
MAC e/s in Amber Lights – middle bottom and top of eyelid
Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl in 005 Nude – waterline
MaxFactor Clump Defy by False Lash Effect Mascara in Black Brown
Eyebrows
Soap & Glory Archery Brow Tint & Precision Shaping Pencil (pencil part only)
MAC e/s in Omega
Collection Colour Lash Clear Mascara
Lips
Lush Mint Julips Lip Scrub
Lush Honey Trap Lip Balm
MAC Lipstick in Rebel
What do you think? How did I do for a pretty toned down Arab inspired look? I really enjoyed it and literally cannot wait to do a full on bright look 😀 
Fleur xoxo
4 thoughts on “FOTN: Taking Inspiration From Instagram

  1. jenn f says:

    lol rhetorical question. i remember my high school english teacher giving us a lecture on never starting with them for essays.
    the look is great! when i think of arab-inspired i def think of thick black liner but your softer version is very nice. the eyes are very well done! and rebel works well with the look
    jenn

    A Beautiful Zen

    Like

  2. Fleur says:

    Thank you! I decided not to go for the massive winged out liner – I thought it would be a little much for a dinner! However, I am definitely going to be copying a full on look soon 😀 xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

