Male Friendly Makeup

Maybe I’ve been watching too many films? Maybe I’ve been looking at too many women? For whatever reason, I decided I wanted to be ‘pretty’ and ‘appealing’. I also decided I just wanted to chat to you. So prepare for an essay! 

So, I think it is a pretty universal theme that a lot of men (think they) prefer women without makeup. Realistically though are they more likely to go for you when you’re utterly bare-faced or when you’ve got that little splash of makeup to make you look a little healthier? The better version of yourself? I know which I’d choose. 

Normally I’m not one for caring if someone is intimidated by or doesn’t like my makeup. However, during August, I decided to try wearing more ‘man-friendly’ makeup, curiosity has to be followed. 

By the last two photos I had given up caring so much but it’s still friendlier than say:
What I learnt? Trying to be someone you aren’t… Just makes you unhappy. Wearing what I would consider more boring makeup to work may be essential. All the rest of the time,  I can’t pretend I don’t love makeup, so why shouldn’t my face show my love. 
I was trying to look ‘pretty’, yet I’ve never felt so ugly. I’ve never felt less like myself. How can I be attractive if I don’t feel attractive? 
What I learnt is that there is nothing that everyone hates (lipstick on teeth? there’s got to be someone out there who loves that, you know it). There are some men who hate my streaks of colour in my hair, they’ve been pretty vocal and told me. There are some who think that they are absolutely amazing. There are some men who are scared by purple lipstick, there are some who are fascinated. 
In the end, the only opinion you need to listen to is your own. The only opinion. I am lecturing you here and I’m sorry. I just feel the need to be vocal sometimes. Take ownership of yourself, your body, your face and your life. Don’t let what people say put you down, you deserve better, show them. If you aren’t happy with yourself, changing to fit someone else’s ideal isn’t going to fix that. Changing to make yourself happy will. If you don’t like wearing makeup, don’t wear any. If you love wearing a full on face every day, go for it! Everyone is beautiful in their own way, give yourself a chance to shine. If you are happy, comfortable and confident in your skin, your clothes, your face – yourself, then you can’t fail to be attractive. 
To that end, I can and will tone down my makeup, I can wear none… When I want to feel beautiful though, those colours are coming right out to say hello. 
Lots of love, 
Fleur xoxo

3 thoughts on “Male Friendly Makeup

  1. jenn f says:

    agreement all around and like i always say, you rock those colors for those of us who can't (primarily cause i'm way to afraid LOL)
    its true! guys think they don't like girls with makeup but they don't realize how much makeup it takes to look like you don't have makeup haha
    jenn

    A Beautiful Zen

    Like

  2. jenn f says:

    agreement all around and like i always say, you rock those colors for those of us who can't (primarily cause i'm way to afraid LOL)
    its true! guys think they don't like girls with makeup but they don't realize how much makeup it takes to look like you don't have makeup haha
    jenn

    A Beautiful Zen

    Like

Leave a Reply

