Spring Has Sprung. £20 Makeup Challenge!

The look at Dior

Another look on the cheap for you today. This look basically encompasses the best of the summer makeup trends in one easy to wear, cheap to buy, easy to apply look. Well, in my opinion anyway!

It combines a (very toned down) version of the cobalt blue neon eyes shown at the likes of Dior and the ‘power lips’ shown at Burberry and Giles. Whilst I do love the natural look that is always in fashion in the summer time and the sixties inspired makeup that has also been on the catwalks, for me, it’s all about the brights.

Amazing lips at Holly Fulton

This look can be super toned down, a nod to the catwalk. It can also be really full on, that’s up to you. If you want the really full on cobalt eyes, you will need another eyeshadow to add on top. Or opt for the Maybelline Colour Tattoo in Turquoise Forever instead.

These are definitely strong looks, looks that won’t be for everyone but that if you try in the comfort of your own room – you might actually enjoy.

Anyway, on to how I created this look. Plus, you guessed it – more photos of my face! If anyone ever steals my phone and looks through my photos they are quite literally going to be like “whaaaaaat?!” haha.

The first thing I did was mix some of the Maybelline Dream Lumi Touch Highlighting Concealer in 01 Ivory (£6.99) with some moisturiser. I then applied this using my fingers all over my face, I went back and added more in the areas I needed more coverage.

I then used it straight from the product brush to conceal the dark circle around my eyes, around my nose and a few red patches on my face. For this look I wanted a flawless but still natural looking base.

I filled in my eyebrows using the MUA Eyebrow Pencil in Blonde (£1). This helpfully has a little brush at the other end for brushing through the brows. The pencil is a little soft, as are most high street eyebrow pencils, but it is good. The addition of the brush and the price really does make this a good buy. Do go in with a gentle touch and sharpen the pencil regularly though.

Next I applied the Maybelline 24hr Colour Tattoo in 85 Light In Purple (£4.99) all over my lids using my ring finger. I built this up to quite a strong colour. I also placed some along my lower lash line.

I curled my eyelashes and applied two coats of the Boots Natural Collection LashCurl Mascara in black/brown (£1.99) to top and bottom lashes. I really like this mascara and you can see my review here! If I had used the Colour Tattoo in Forever Turquoise, I would not have applied that under the eye and I would not have applied mascara on the lower lashes.

Gentle, toned down version – perfect for every day wear.

The final steps were using the Maybelline Colour Sensational Lipstick in 910 Shocking Coral (£7.19). I patted this four time along my cheek bone and blended out with a finger for blush.

I also applied this on my lips. I have shown this both applied lightly an patted into the lips and heavily, blotted and reapplied. I like both and would choose which application depending on the day and situation.

Bright lips! Whoop! You know you love them 😉

I hope you enjoyed seeing a catwalk trend reinterpreted as a high street, £20 look. If you’d like to see me do this with the turquoise forever colour tattoo, I’d be more than happy to show you what that would look like!

This look totalled £22.16. However, at the time there was a 3 for 2 offer on Maybelline, which meant I got the colour tattoo for free. With high street/drugstore makeup, always wait till there is an offer on, they have promotions all the time. This meant I actually spent £17.17. So technically I was over budget but in reality I wasn’t. You get what I mean 🙂 it’s a cheat but sometimes that’s necessary.

Love you guys ❤

Fleur xoxo

Leave a Reply

