Glinda the Good, On a Budget.

As I am sure you have all seen, Urban Decay teamed up with the creators of Oz to create two palettes for the two witches Theodora and Glinda. As it turns out, whilst watching the film, I couldn’t help thinking about that lovely little NYC palette I used in my previous £20 high street makeup looks. See challenge #2 (for swatches) and #3 for the other looks I have created with this palette.

I have failed a little, in so much as I haven’t lined my eyes with a black liner. However, with that addition and a little more inner corner highlight, this is very much a Glinda the Good on a budget. That sounds wrong somehow… You can see Glinda’s makeup here on the Disney website.

First of all I mixed a small amount of my Maybelline Dream Lumi Touch Highlighting Concealer in 01 Ivory (£6.99) with some moisturiser and applied all over my face. Glinda has a very flawless yet glowing base so this worked quite well. I continued to use this from the product brush straight onto any imperfections and especially underneath the eyes.

I filled in my eyebrows using the MUA Eyebrow Pencil in Blonde (£1). This has a little brush on the other end, which is massively helpful.

I then used the NYC Colour Instinct Eye Shadow Palette in Cupcakes and Coffee (£3.49). I used the peach shade all over the lid, the silver highlight in the inner corner then the smallest amount of the purple shadow in the crease just to add definition without colour.

After that I used the Boots Natural Collection LashCurl Mascara in black/brown (£1.99) on curled lashes both top and bottom.

Finally I used the Boots Natural Collection Moisture Shine Lipstick in Coral Shimmer (£1.99) this is a beautiful colour in general and perfect for this look. I applied this to the cheeks and blended with a finger. I then used a cotton bud (q-tip) to apply it neatly to the lips. A cotton bud works really well in place of a lip brush.

This totalled £15.46. Obviously I need to add in that pesky black liner which I forgot, how could I?! You can definitely find one of those for under the £4.50 required though. In fact the Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Liner in Black is £3.99 – if it is anything as lovely as the nude of the same line – that would do just fine! Sorted.

Have you seen the film? What do you think of my take on the look? Its certainly a cheaper option 😛

Fleur xoxo

2 thoughts on “Glinda the Good, On a Budget.

Leave a Reply

