Review: Boots Natural Collection LashCurl Mascara

I bought the Boots Natural Collection LashCurl mascara in black/brown for my £20 drugstore / high street makeup challenge. I was definitely expecting this to be an absolutely terrible mascara. I was expecting it to either do very little at all, or just stick all my eyelashes together in one big goopy mess.

When I opened up the tube and saw the wand, I really thought I was going to end up with one big clump of a lash.

Eeeek! That does not look like a good brush!

What they say: ‘Curls, lifts and separates the lashes. Fragrance free. Dermatologically tested.

That sounds pretty good to me and was why I chose this one from the selection. I like well defined, curly lashes. I’m not one for volumising mascaras, I’m also not the biggest fan of insanely lengthening ones. I like lashes that look like I have insanely good natural lashes. So a little bit of volume, a fair bit of length, lots of definition and lots of separation. For reference, my HG mascara is the MaxFactor False Lash Effect Mascara.

So, how did this super cheap (£1.99!) mascara do? Amazingly. It wasn’t clumpy, it wasn’t anything I expected. In fact, I was blown away. It may require a bit more work than I would normally put into the application of mascara but that is definitely something you can live with. Also, having a smaller brush than I’ve used in ages actually turned out to be bonus – you can get into the corners, you don’t smudge mascara all over your beautifully shaded eyeshadow and doing the bottom lashes is so much easier.

However, how did it last? The last cheaper mascara I used (which is coming up in a disappointing products post soon) was appalling. You know what? It stayed on, it didn’t smudge and it didn’t flake. I have even switched this in and worn it to work a good few times. Do consider that my work has the ability to make all but the most amazing makeup smudge and break down. This held up.

Buy this if:

  • You’re on a budget.
  • You like quite natural but elongated and slightly fuller lashes.
  • You want your mascara to hold up all day.
  • You want to be able to reach every single lash.
  • If you hate clumps and spider-leg-lashes.
  • If you’re looking for an every day mascara.
Not for you if:
  • You prefer your lashes really full on. 
  • You want a mascara that is one swipe and you’re done.
Now for the pictures!
With eyeshadow applied. Nothing has been done to the lashes.
With eyeshadow and lashes curled. You can see the massive difference curling the lashes makes!
Close up of curled lashes.
Lashes with one coat of mascara applied

Close up of lashes with mascara applied.

I’ve shown the mascara with one coat applied, of course you can build this up more but I would be unlikely to. So this is a true representation of how I would wear it. I really like it and you know what, I can’t wait to try more of Boots Natural Collection’s mascaras. I’m hard to please but this has blown me away.

Fleur xoxo

3 thoughts on “Review: Boots Natural Collection LashCurl Mascara

Leave a Reply

