£20 Makeup Challenge #3

When I started using makeup, I used a very small amount from the high street / drugstore. I went straight in for buying MAC, Benefit and (more randomly) Estee Lauder and Lancome… Since starting reading blogs and then blogging myself, I have definitely discovered the joy that can be high street makeup. So, I really want to continue with these £20 makeup posts. I will diversify and start using a whole array of products, I was thinking I would purchase one £20 set and then create one look a week with it per month. However, I’m really trying to do a no-makeup-buy March… So, maybe I can start that in April! In the meantime, I have a whole lot of amazing high street makeup, so a whole load of looks I want to create for you 🙂

This look, I have to admit, I used all my usual makeup brushes for. I had very little time to get ready, so I needed to just get on with it and not be trying to use little sponge applicators and cotton buds! I created a very ‘springy’ look, one that I’m really happy with and was really what I was trying to go for last time but failed. The NYC palette I bought has definitely turned out to be a good purchase, I think it may even make it into my work eye shadow selection…

Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in light 2, Boots Natural Collections LashCurl Mascara in black/brown, Collection Lasting Colour Eyebrow Definer in blonde, Boots Natural Collections SunTint Bronzing Powder in sun shine, Boots Natural Collections Blush in sugar plum, NYC Colour Instinct Eye Shadow Palette in Cupcakes and Coffee, MUA Lipstick in shade 2.

 First of all, as in my previous posts #2 and #1, I used the Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in light 2 (£4.19) as both a tinted moisturiser and concealer. I mixed this in with a more hydrating lotion this time and really liked the slightly more dewy effect this gave. It still held up well and I didn’t get much oil showing through.

I brightened up my face using the Boots Natural Collections SunTint Bronzing Powder in sun shine (£1.99). This is a slightly pink toned, shimmery bronzer and I really like the effect it gave. I finished off the base using the Boots Natural Collections Blush in sugar plum (£1.99), this is one of my favourite blushes and works well as a natural looking blush and contour combination.

Once more, I followed this up with the Collection Lasting Colour Eyebrow Definer in blonde (£2.79). I can’t say I’m the biggest fan of this product, the shade is great but it is relatively difficult to work with. You definitely need to go with a very light hand and brush it out well.

Next, I moved onto eyes. I used the light purple toned shimmer shade and the dark purple shade from the NYC Colour Instinct Eye Shadow Palette in Cupcakes and Coffee (£3.49). I used the light shade all over the lid, into the inner corner and along the inner half of the lower lash line. The dark shade I used in the crease and down to the lashes forming a little v shape on the outside of my eye. I also applied this on the outer half of the lower lash line and blended everything out.
I finished off the eyes by curling my lashes and applying 1 coats of the Boots Natural Collections LashCurl Mascara (£1.99). This gave a natural, fluttery look to my lashes.
Finally, I applied a slick of the MUA Lipstick in shade 2 (£1). 

This look totalled the grand sum of £17.44! So a ‘saving’ of £2.56 on the £20, can’t complain with that for a pretty full look. I have already worn components of this look again but I really do love it so can imagine I will wear it lots more. Plus, that lipstick – gorgeous! I think I need to try out more from that range!

I hope you enjoyed this 🙂

Fleur xoxo

2 thoughts on “£20 Makeup Challenge #3

Leave a Reply

