£20 Makeup Challenge

I really liked the idea of the $20 makeup challenge. As I live in the UK and the cost of makeup is a little higher than in the US, as most people have, I’ve converted that straight to £20. With this, you are supposed to include all the makeup and tools you use.

As I don’t really want to buy any new makeup brushes, especially not super cheap ones, I’ve gone for avoiding using tools. I’m aiming to do a few of these looks though and I will inevitably use tools in some of them. However, I think that for a basic starter kit of tools, you can easily put together a set quite cheaply. Utilise eBay and you could have a full on brush set for £10, it might not be the best quality but it would be a start. Well, that’s my opinion anyway. Maybe I’ll do a £20 tool kit post too, I’m pretty sure I could, even without using eBay.

For my first look, I wanted to go for a quite glamorous bold lip, fluttery eye lashes and a simple base. I ended up using 5 products, totalling the cost of £16.95, so saving £3.05 on the £20 limit. You can’t say no to that. I did use my eyelash curlers, sorry, as well as some moisturiser. If you don’t have eyelash curlers or a skin care regime though, stop right here and sort that out before you start on the makeup! No honestly, get those sorted and you’ll already be looking amazing before you apply any makeup 😉

Boots Natural Collection Sugar Plum blush

Boots Natural Collection LashCurl Mascara, Rimmel Apocalips Lip Lacquer in Apocaliptic, Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in light 2, Collection Eyebrow Definer in Blonde.

So, to start with I used the Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in light 2 (£4.19) and rolled 2 blobs onto the back of my hand. I mixed this in with a squirt of moisturiser and ten applied it all over my face as a tinted moisturiser. This gave a really nice matte coverage, so removing the need to powder. If you have dry skin, try using an illuminating, moisturising concealer instead.

I then went in with the concealer straight on the skin on any red areas, blemishes and under my eyes. By using a concealer for both these steps, you get perfectly colour matched concealer and tinted moisturiser. As the Collection concealer is long lasting this should also hold up all day.

I am absolutely in love with the Rimmel Apocalips. Especially this one in Apocaliptic. I may well have to go back and buy more shades!

I then filled in my brows using the Collection Eyebrow Definer in blonde (£2.79). I then used a cotton bud to blend it out and get the hairs all tidy. Using the eyebrow definer again, I lined my upper lash line and through the crease and blended it out with my finger tip. This added a light definition to the eye.

I curled my eyelashes and applied a few coats of the Boots Natural Collection LashCurl Mascara (£1.99) in brown/black to the top and bottom lashes. Whilst the wand looks pretty poor, I really like the effect this mascara gives the lashes. It will be interesting to see its longevity on the lashes.

I then used my finger tips to apply some of the Boots Natural Collection Sugar Plum blush (£1.99). This really needs a blush for application but it worked for putting a little colour back into my cheeks.

Finally I used the Rimmel Apocalips Lip Lacquer in Apocaliptic (£5.99) on my lips. As this is super bright, glossy and comes with it’s own applicator this was a great choice for this look.

I hope you enjoyed this look. I really enjoyed the challenge of coming up with a makeup look I could create for such a small amount of money. It really shows you don’t need to spend a lot for a new look.

I can’t wait for the next one!

Fleur xoxo

Leave a Reply

