January Favourites!

Hey guys 🙂 I’m sorry I haven’t really posted much this month and that we are over halfway through February and I haven’t managed to get my January favourites up yet. I’ve been having various health issues alongside making some difficult decisions about my life. Neither of those are going away but I’m back to feeling a little more like myself and ready to face the world again. So, very late and I have had to stop myself shoehorning in the amazing discoveries I’ve made since the beginning of February, here are my January favourites!

This month I have a whole selection of products I either literally couldn’t put down or that just made me go ‘wow’. I used very few products this month. Normally I really enjoy mixing things up, creating a new look on a daily basis, even if it is just changing one thing. This month, I created pretty much exactly the same face every day. I guess that, in itself, is a change for me.

Top: Revlon Colourburst Lipstick in Fuchsia and MAC Cremesheen Lipstick in Creme Cup

These lipsticks are definitely the colours I have reached for most this month. The Revlon in the evenings and at weekends then the MAC for everyday work wear.

The Revlon Fuchsia Colourburst Lipstick is obviously a really bright shade but is so easy to apply and wear that it doesn’t feel like a lot of effort to wear it. It can also be patted in lightly for a gorgeous pop of a more muted pink with lots of lipgloss over the top. Whilst I rarely feel brave enough to go out in a bright red, this to me, is a really easy to wear colour. Probably because half my clothes are pink and it suits my skin tone well ha. 
MAC Creme Cup is probably a lipstick I wont repurchase when I finish it. So why is it a favourite? It is just really nice for quickly applying before work. Realistically I feel it is a little too light and pink for me. It is lighter than my natural lip colour. I’m not really a fan of that but lightly applied it does look nice. Particularly when my skin is lighter in winter. When I finish this I will be moving onto more brown or peach based nudes, that are a little more pigmented.

Sleek Face Contour Kit in Light, Sleek Blush in Rose Gold and Maybelline 24hr Colour Tattoo in On and On Bronze

The Sleek Face Contour Kit is pretty darn awesome. I have been loving adding a tiny amount of the shader to the hollows of my cheeks, almost just darkening the bottom half of my blush. This neatly contours my face for daytime without being too much. For the evening I can go all out with this and full on give myself amazing cheekbones. The highlighter is really lovely. Bright, perhaps a little too much for daytime but do I care? Nope. I was whacking a tonne of this on my face to get my skin looking remotely healthy all through January.

Talking about looking healthy, the Sleek Blush in Rose Gold gives winter skin a good glow by the bucket load. Maybe not ideal with the amount I was putting on in daylight. Under glorious fluorescent lighting – ideal. I absolutely hated this in summer feeling it made my skin too orange and glittery. In the winter when there is less light and my skin is super pale, this is lovely. I wore it quite literally every day and have basically continued to do so throughout February so far.

The Maybelline 24hr Colour Tattoo‘s in general are really lovely. In fact, I may well do a proper review, with swatches for them as I never really saw very many reviews of them. Which considering quite how lovely they are, is a shame. Everyone talks about how great they are but doesn’t really show you why. Which I will continue the theme of today. I used this and this alone, most days. With a bit of primer underneath and no eye shadow on top, this was just quick, easy and looked great. You can build up a little more into the crease, sheer it out a lot in the inner corner of the eye and you have one easy but beautiful eye look. I even got a compliment on this as a ‘your eye make-up is always really lovely but today its just gorgeous’. You can see why I continued to wear it!

Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturiser in Nude, Kiko Cosmetics Smart Eye Pencil in 800, Smashbox Hyperlash Mascara

This was the month where my Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturiser came back to being loved. This really does give you a ‘my skin but better’ look. You wouldn’t know I was wearing it, even if you got up really close. It leaves a dewy finish on my normal-combo skin. It covers up all the minor imperfections just leaving a couple of places needing some concealer. For an everyday work base, I can’t think of anything better. 

The Kiko COsmetics Smart Eye Pencil I adore. I quite like having a nude eyeliner in my waterline as my eyes appear slightly red most of the time. However, I often think it can look unnatural, especially when I’m only wearing a light dusting of eye shadow. This is a is a shimmery beige-gold. So it looks pretty natural in the waterline and then I also pop it all around the tear duct area and smudge it out. Paired with the Maybelline colour tattoo, this is perfection.
Having gone back to my MaxFactor False Lash Effect Mascara in the past few days, I have less love for the Smashbox Hyperlash Mascara. However, this sample was the only mascara I used in January and I do love the effect it gives. Super long luscious lashes, really defined, really lovely. The only downside is it does smudge slightly so I was always left with slight dark patches under my eyes by lunchtime even. I would clean it up and by the time I left work I would have smudges again. Not ideal, especially when the MaxFactor mascara has a similar and for me actually preferable effect without any smudging whatsoever. I should have a review and pictures of this coming up soon though and if you are someone who doesn’t have issues with mascara smudging then this could be a good one for you!

Garnier Body Intensive 7 days Ultra-Softening Lotion Nourishing Shea Butter

Throughout January, I did not want to get out of bed at all. This meant I often got up late and didn’t have time to moisturise my body. As a result, my skin ended up in a very painful, dry state. Within hours of my slathering some of this on, my skin already felt better. Within a couple of days and a few exfoliations later, my skin was back to feeling alive and glowing again. Nothing else compares for me. For the price, the quality is amazing. For a 400ml bottle, this costs about £4, it is very often on offer and currently I saw it for £3.33. I reviewed this fully here, if you want more information, I think it is definitely worth a try.

I hope you are all well and enjoyed seeing all the products I loved in January!
Fleur xoxo

4 thoughts on “January Favourites!

Leave a Reply

