FOTD: Saturday is for Brights

Considering that I used to wear solely bright eyeshadows, there has been a distinct lack of brights on this blog! Mainly because I have started in the world of work and have to look smart and presentable on a daily basis, which I often think brights fail to convey. Also, as apparently I still look like a 16 year old… Anything to make me look a little more mature than the school kids I work around is definitely needed!

On recent Saturdays I have been getting out my well loved but recently neglected colourful MAC eyeshadows. It has been great to splash the colour on and feel truly like myself again. I think it is quite funny how for me colourful eyeshadows are what I feel most comfortable wearing yet for a lot of people wearing colours is quite a big step. I personally think it is great that we all love different things, variety is the spice of life after all!

Sorry for the grainy photos, I was in a bit of a rush and they all turned out terribly. These are the few that aren’t horribly out of focus. I need do need a new camera, mine is slowly dying a death and just doesn’t have the quality I want.

 

Base
Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation in True Ivory
Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer
MAC Peaches
Eyes
Smashbox Photofinish Lid Primer
MAC Delft Paintpot
MAC e/s in Steamy (outside of eye)
MAC e/s in Stars ‘n’ Rockets (inside of eye)
Illamasqua Liquid Metal in Electrum (around the inner corner)
MaxFactor False Lash Effect Mascara
Smashbox Brow Tech in Blonde
Lips
Rimmel Lasting Finish Lipstick in Sugar Plum
The lipstick has definitely become one of my favourites. It was in my stocking last Christmas, chosen for me by my mum, I was a little nervous about it as it looks pretty interesting in the tube. On the lips however, it is absolutely lovely. 
I’ve also finally started using MAC Delft paintpot. This has sat virtually unused for years. I used it once or twice without primer, quite thickly applied and it creased instantly and looked horrible. Over primer it works wonders to make greens, pinks and purples brighter and more interesting. In fact, I think it would also make browns look pretty nice too! I haven’t tried layering it up over primer to wear by itself yet but it is such a gorgeous colour in the pot that if it didn’t crease with primer, it would be amazing. It is now discontinued, I can see why, whilst it is a gorgeous teal green shimmery beauty – it probably wouldn’t appeal to the masses!
I have some more brights posts coming up so I hope you’ve enjoyed this one 🙂 seeing something a bit different from me!
Fleur xoxo
2 thoughts on “FOTD: Saturday is for Brights

Leave a Reply

