October Favourites!

Favourites time again! Once more a whole lot of beauty products… A lot of my favourites this month were discovered on holiday. I was lucky enough for the past week to have been in Florence, Italy! My mum was really generous and took me on holiday, she had lived in Florence for 3 months when she was my age and had always wanted to go back and take me too. As I work in a school I get school holidays, so I went during my half term. I took a limited *ahem* selection of makeup and cosmetics (2 little wash bags… I thought that was a reasonable amount). However, what I did take proved to contain quite a few gems 🙂

L’Oreal Techniart Liss Control Smooth Control GelThis is essentially a cream that you put on before you blow dry your hair, or even before you leave your hair to dry naturally. What it does is contains the crazy, frizzy mess my hair loves to create and stops humidity turning my hair into said crazy hideous mess. I work quite a lot over a sink with practically boiling water in it. As a result, my hair is a sad thing. With this, my hair looks lovely. On a bad day it will still frizz slightly, most of the time however, it stays lovely and smooth and exactly how I want it. Oh also, it makes my hair feel insanely baby soft. I got this in my Glossybox a couple of months ago, finds like these entirely justify my subscription.
The Body Shop Shea Beautifying OilI talked about these a while back and have continued loving them. I am so sad at how little I have left of this one! Basically I took this away with me as a nourishing hair treatment, facial oil, body oil, to help my cuticles along… You name it. I moisturise my skin every day and usually taking body lotion is a massive bore as it takes up so much space. With this you use such a small amount, I could even have decanted it into a mini bottle. It also meant I didn’t need to take a separate night cream etc etc. Oh and it left my skin feeling like heaven, what more could you want?
Nivea Pure and Natural Milk and HoneyThis has to be my favourite lip balm ever. Maybe it is the scent? I don’t think so though, no amount of gorgeous scent will sway me if a product is poor. I’m onto my 3rd tube now and have a 4th ready and waiting. Basically: it just works, its affordable, it isn’t too greasy, it is in a wind up tube so nice and hygienic and it smells great. I love it.

Rimmel Wake Me Up FoundationWorth the hype. I happily apply this with my fingers and have beautiful looking skin all day. It stands up to the steaming and sweating (ew) that goes on my face at work. It stood up to the rain and wind and random sunshine in Florence. It doesn’t look cakey. It makes me look healthy which frankly, I don’t without it. 
Sleek iDivine in Storm This is back in my favourites, sorry guys! BUT I have a reason! This is amazing, amazing I tell you, for travelling. The main reason being that stonking great mirror the same size as the pallete! Sure, in my time away I basically used 2 of the shadows and then 3 more perhaps once? So in terms of packing efficiency that isn’t ideal. Taking my MAC quad would have made more sense. However, I had other eyeshadow options had I wanted them which was lovely. I also had that mirror which made applying my makeup a breeze. I was happily sat on my bed out of my mums way and could just get on without hogging any mirrors bar this one. Ideal. This will be going everywhere with me. 
Smashbox Brow Tech and Brow BrushThis gives me perfect eyebrows *sighs with happiness*. I’m a little bit of an eyebrow freak, I love them, I stare at people in the street who have perfect eyebrows. I worry about the girl at school where I work who looks like she has shaved hers off and now felt tips them in. To do my eyebrows with this takes a bit more time and effort but it just makes them look exactly how I want them. I probably won’t be using this every day because I don’t want to have to get up 5 minutes earlier, I can cope with how my eyebrows look when pencilled in. However, at the weekend or for special occasions, I will definitely be using this!

Left to Right: Pixi Tinted Brilliance Balm in No. 8 Bitten Berry, Yves Rocher Moisturising Cream Lipstick in 101 Framboise, MAC Lipstick in Moxie

 Pixi Tinted Brilliance BalmThis is quite similar in formulation to the Revlon Just Bitten Kissable’s, the smell and texture I prefer though. It is slightly glossier but with just as much colour pay off. It doesn’t seem as thick or I want to use chalky but that isn’t quite right. It is just thinner and melts into the lips more. Anyway, I love it, I particularly love the colour and staying power. At £12 they are more expensive than the Revlon ones but certainly for this colour, I think it is worth the money. I haven’t tried any other colours, so I can’t comment on them.

Yves Rocher Moisturising Cream Lipstick I received this in a previous Glossybox, perhaps Octobers now I think about it. On first swatch I fell in love with this. It is so wonderfully pigmented and smooth. It glides on absolutely delightfully and oh, that colour! I normally shy away from red, red lipsticks but this colour sits well on my skin too. Perhaps because it is a slightly pinker tone. I can’t say I had ever thought of Yves Rocher for buying lipsticks but having tried this one I will be checking out their other ones. At £14.50, they aren’t the cheapest but are a similar price to a lipstick from MAC and every bit as wonderful.

MAC MoxieI bought this on a complete whim, having not even seen it, from MAC’s online shop. This was one of the shade brought back in the by request range they just did. I am so glad I went for it. I also got the shade Candy Yum Yum which I have yet to fall in love with and wasn’t going to get Moxie. In the end, considering you get free p&p if you spend over £30, I decided to just go for it. I haven’t stopped wearing this. Literally, most days in Florence I was wearing this and topping it up after every meal because I loved the colour that much. It is a matte finish and long wearing, you just need to top up after meals or drinks. It doesn’t dry the lips like I thought it would, which is great. I am so sad to be back at work tomorrow and unable to wear this on full volume, however I will be dabbing it on lightly as it is still beautiful applied that way.

Finally, two brushes. These are my staple eyeshadow application brushes. The one on the left is from Topshop and the one on the right is a travel sized MAC 224. I use the Topshop one to apply the colours and then the 224 to blend. From Topshop’s website, I cannot tell if they still make this brush or which one it would be if they do. It is either the ‘smudger brush’ or the ‘eyeshadow brush’ if they do still make it, I haven’t included a link as I’m not sure. For £4/£5, it is also a very reasonable purchase. Both are quite soft and fluffy, not the best if you want a very strong eyeshadow look but great if you want an every day look or a soft smokey eye. As these are the kinds of look I go for most, you can see why I love these brushes. I haven’t tried a MAC 217, I think when I do (it is on my wishlist) I may find a brush that combines what I get from these two. Until then and I’m sure even after that, I adore these brushes and wouldn’t be without them.

How was your October? Excited that it is now November? I am definitely starting to get excited for Christmas now!

Fleur xoxo

2 thoughts on “October Favourites!

Leave a Reply

