Smashbox in Manchester

The weekend before last I was happily in Manchester with my boy. He had things to do in town so I was happily wandering around Boots… Always a bad plan! Or good, depending on how you view it aha. Either way, I saw the new Smashbox counter and was having a little browse when one of the counter ladies offered to do my makeup! This being an offer I obviously couldn’t turn down, I said yes.

I first tried some Smashbox products last Christmas having been given one of their gift boxes as a present. After that their foundation primer and under eye brightener have become products I use basically daily. I cannot get enough of them. So I was quite excited to try some more of their products and get a better idea of the brand as a whole.

The lady who did my makeup (Giovanna) was genuinely lovely and helpful. She showed me different products and came up with a look I actually adore. It was definitely interesting trying out a whole look from one brand. Also having had my makeup done so often recently by trainee makeup artists it was fun to have it done by a fully trained artist.

As for the products, I do wish I had a full list of everything used on me! The foundation was quite lovely. A good level of coverage but not over the top and still leaving my skin looking healthy. It didn’t look too different from my Rimmel wake me up foundation but I would definitely go and try it again. For me, I definitely felt a lack of blush and contour products. I may only have had my sleek contour kit a month now but honestly I feel my face doesn’t look right without it! (which probably isn’t a great thing). The lipstick was amazing, really intense colour and stained my lips for a good time after the top layer had worn off. Amazingly I didn’t find it dried my lips out though, pretty impressive. I would have bought it but I own a very similar shade so I couldn’t justify it.

I also bought some products… Having enjoyed my makeover so much, I couldn’t not! I got the brow tech in blonde (£17), which contains two light browns and a wax. To go with that, I got the brow brush (£16) which is a slightly thicker and stiffer than usual angled brush, perfect for the job. I never thought I’d get into using powders on my brows but this has definitely proven how good it can look! As well as that I got the ‘try it kit’ (£19) which contains the photofinish foundation primer, lid primer, black eyeliner, hyperlash mascara and a lip gloss. So far having had a play with all these bits I love them all. I think these kits are such a good way to give the brand a try without spending too much or committing to say a foundation for however many months!

Not the best photo but I just loved this look!
I also had my photo taken in the photo booth they had!

I would really recommend stopping by a Smashbox counter next time you see one. Have a look, they have some really surprisingly great products!

Fleur xoxo

4 thoughts on “Smashbox in Manchester

Leave a Reply

