September Beauty Favourites!

Literally where did September go? For me it was such a ‘blink and you missed it’ month. I honestly felt nothing really happened in September and I guess that might be why it seemed so fast moving. I always feel I can differentiate time more when I’ve actually done a few exciting activities. My boy was telling me a bit about time psychology and it is really fascinating, I’ve been meaning to read up more about it and why time does feel like it moves at different speeds!

Back to the beauty… I’m sticking with separate favourites again, mainly because I’ve discovered my perfect combination of base products for work. As you may know, I work in a lab and often end up steaming my face washing up equipment and sweating a bit running round (not actually running, that would be dangerous), carrying things and generally being on my feet all day. As a result, liquid foundation ran off my face in lines and tinted moisturiser kind of worked but still felt and looked quite disgusting by the end of the day. Not what you want. 
So I decided to try a mineral foundation. I didn’t choose this through any sensible method of reading reviews or trying samples and getting tested. I decided I quite fancied trying the Inika one. Then when I went on their website I found you could buy a ‘face in a box‘ for £49.99. In this you receive a mineral foundation, mineral bronzer, vegan kabuki brush and vegan contouring brush. You also get trial sizes of their liquid mineral foundation, organic concealer and primer. Not bad. I will be reviewing this at a later date so I won’t say more now but I am loving the mineral foundation!

Inika Vegan Kabuki Brush – this works so nicely with the foundation to apply an even and shall we say sensible amount. It doesn’t pick up too much – unless you full on dunk it in the powder… It feels soft and it (so far) hasn’t shed any bristles on me. So I am quite impressed with that.
Inika Mineral Foundation in Unity 03 – best foundation I’ve found for work and actually I really like it for every day too. It does leave my skin a tiny bit matte looking at times and I’m not entirely sure it is exactly the right colour for me but it works nicely, it sinks into the skin and doesn’t budge!
Illamasqua Blush in Create – great deeper orange/ginger blush. I find it really lifts my face on days where I am looking a little dead. Will probably not work on those of you who wear fake tan but I have stopped fake tanning for a bit to give my skin a break and it is looking awesome.
MAC Blush in Peaches – an all time favourite. I think this was the first blush I owned that I actually used. It is still the same pan which I am so close to finishing. I already have a back up bought and ready in my spare makeup box. That is how much I love this blush. I would not be happy if I didn’t have it in my collection. It is a more gentle peachy orange that just makes me look like I actually slept and am super healthy. Ideal.
Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in Light 2 – I use this everywhere on everything as my only concealer. I do find it works well on my under eye bags, covering areas of hyperpigmentation, covering up blemishes, hiding some blackheads. I love this stuff. Almost finished this tube and this is another product where I already have a backup!
Smashbox Photo OP Under Eye Brightener – This stuff, I would imagine, is similar to the YSL Touche Eclat. I’ve never tried the YSL beyond a few swatches in store. I think it might be added to my Christmas list! I’d never really tried highlighters, they hadn’t really been on my radar till I was given a Smashbox box set for Christmas last year and it had two highlighters in it. This one and a powder one. I used this a little but mainly it sat neglected. Then the other day I picked it up randomly and tried it under the mineral foundation. I loved it! It gives my skin that hint of a glow without being shiny and again, like the blushers, helps me look healthy! I love it.

This is the Sleek iDivine palette in Storm. I quite frankly cannot get enough of it. That is all I am going to say for now because I have a few posts coming up including it and I don’t want you all to get too bored 😛 I’m about to wax lyrical haha.
Hope you all had an awesome September and are looking forward to October and the proper start of autumn! 
Lots of love xoxo
Leave a Reply

