August Favourites

I’m going to do my favourites slightly differently this month. Mainly because I just have so, so many. I couldn’t choose just one beauty product. I needed to show you more! Plus I want to do a whole post on my non-beauty related favourites because I have a ridiculous number of them too. So, first off the beauty selection, most of which won’t be surprising!

Benefit – The Porefessional I have really loved using this. In fact when I went to Germany I basically used this instead of using any foundation or powder just to slightly even my skin tone, hide my pores a little and keep my skin matte. Since I came back I have also been using it under MAC MSFN which is providing a good level of cover for me at the moment. This little sample size came free with Glamour magazine and I will definitely be repurchasing.

Illamasqua – Eyeshadow in Never This eyeshadow is really pigmented, super soft, goes on like a dream and kind of smells like chocolate. As part of my first foray into Illamasqua I had no idea what to expect but I was really happy to discover this. I definitely want to try out more shades from them but in the meantime this is great for using as liner and I might try a dark blue smokey or glossy eye soon and do a FOTD for you all.

Benefit – Hoola Seems like I’m just loving Benefit this month! I found a little pack in Boots a while back containing this little Hoola, a tiny Bad Gal mascara and a mini foundation (can’t for the life of me remember which, I haven’t really used it yet). The colour of this looks kind of dirty and I’m always pretty careful with bronzer as I hate looking like I’ve been rolling in mud/tango. This is a good colour though, goes on and blends well and I may well actually buy the full size. I still love my Bobbi Brown Illuminating Bronzer btw but sometimes I want to feel/look brown not just healthy!

Maybelline – Dream Touch Blush in 06 This applies like a dream. Sorry, had to be done. Joking aside, this is the easiest to use cream blush I’ve tried so far. It applies in a light layer and you can build it up to the level you want. I’m not so sure about the staying power because I don’t look at myself in the mirror enough. However, I would say it definitely lasts my working day, so not too bad. Plus, the colour is stunning, I can’t get enough of this!

MAC – Eyeshadows in Kid and Sable Perfect duo. Kid is my perfect base colour. It looks quite dark in the pan but on the lids, whilst it shows (which I like) it isn’t dark. Then Sable, oh my is that a beautiful eyeshadow. I literally cannot get enough of it and I think this duo is probably going to be staying out, in its current form and I will neglect all other eyeshadows for a fair while.

LUSH – Eau Roma Water This is heaven in a toner. Maybe I’m exaggerating but honestly I think it is. I came back from Manchester with very sad looking skin. This has definitely helped to reinvigorate it. Helps that it smells delightful too! I feel like it helps with my redness too – always a bonus.
LUSH – Cynthia Sylvia Stout Beer Shampoo Read the bottle in the picture above. Yep? It works. I have pretty greasy hair but this doesn’t make it worse. Instead it seems to just turn my hair from a slightly frizzy, greasy mess into a tamed, less greasy do. What more could I want? I combine this with the Aussie volumising conditioner and wonders have been worked upon my head. The smell might put some of you off, the price others (lets just say it isn’t the cheapest!) but it is a really nice shampoo. If you feel the need for a bit of frizz taming, it might work for you.

Left to right: Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm/Stain in Rendezvous and Cherish, Canmake Creamy Touch Rouge in Misty Orange 02, MAC New York Apple.

Finally the lip products! I do love my lipstick…

Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm/Stain in Rendezvous and Cherish I love these. I took Cherish with me to Germany as my only lip colour! Insanity I know. I’ve been wearing these pretty much non-stop since I bought them. My favourite thing is as they fade a slightly different but no less lovely colour emerges. One that you don’t need to worry about fading randomly or drifting across your face when its warm. I’ve also used them on my cheeks with good success. All I can say is, I want more colours!

Canmake Creamy Touch Rouge in Misty Orange 02 I saw this lipstick on Let’s MakeYuUp and fell in love. I had to have it. So I risked eBay and had it sent. I am so glad I did. It really is perfect in every way. Do look at Yu’s post for more info 🙂 she describes it so well! Plus, ooooh, look at that packaging – its the lipstick in the gold tube… I have included a link to the buyer I bought from, it worked out fine for me. Obviously if you go for it, hopefully it will arrive and be the right product but its at your own risk. Always the worrying thing about eBay-ing cosmetics.

MAC’s New York Apple When I haven’t been playing with all my new lip products this has been my go-to shade. It has barely left my lips, I love it that much. With the colours I wear, the eyeshadows I love, this never looks wrong. I honestly think I’ve found a HG lipstick shade. I don’t want to go on and on about it (actually I do but I don’t want to bore you too much!) but really. Lightly pressed into the lips it is stunning, applied as thickly as you can go this is an ideal shade for a red-lipstick-shy-but-still-wants-to-try-wearing-it person. Go try it! 😛 

I hope you enjoyed seeing my favourites! What were yours? Do link me to your post/video if you’ve posted your August faves. I LOVE favourites posts more than any other!

Much Love,

Fleur xoxo

4 thoughts on “August Favourites

Leave a Reply

