A Meal I Can’t Live Without

There are some meals you love, that you will always come back to. Meals that when you are feeling a bit rubbish will cheer you up. That simply the smell of makes you feel better. Meals which in the cooking of them  make you feel more human. Spaghetti bolognese is that meal for me. My perfect, heavenly meal. The meal I would choose as my last meal should I be on death row. I try not to make it too often so as not to get bored of it. That would be devastating. When I do though, I always make a big vat of it and freeze it in batches, for days when I need cheering up.

Also comforting is making it in my mum’s le creuset. I love this kind of pan. I love that you can use it on the hob and also in the oven. This pan is the perfect size and shape for making all kind of things from bolognese, to stews to casseroles.

There are a million and one recipes for spaghetti bolognese out there. The one I use is from my favourite cookbook, aptly named ‘The Perfect Cookbook’.

Unfortunately it is an Australian cookbook (less unfortunate if you live in Aus) which means it is quite hard to find in the UK. Though it is on Amazon but very few of them, ranging in price dramatically. However, if you can get hold of it there are so many superb recipes that always work, from the lemon delicious pudding to the anzac biscuits to bolognese sauce and stews.

To make this meal healthier, I use a very small amount of oil just to coat the pan before steaming the veg instead of frying. This keeps the fat content down. I also use a lot more vegetables. I add an extra onion and carrot, put in a pepper and some mushrooms, perhaps add a courgette. So whilst not a traditional bolognese sauce it helps me on my way to my five-a-day. Always good.

What is your favourite meal? What do you add to a bolognese?

Fleur xoxo

8 thoughts on “A Meal I Can’t Live Without

  1. Anonymous says:

    Oh my goodnesѕ! Αωeѕоme articlе dude!
    Τhanks, However I am havіng tгoubleѕ wіth your RSS.

    І don't know the reason why I cannot join it. Is there anybody getting the same RSS issues? Anyone who knows the solution can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

    Check out my site :: click the up coming site
    my sitethis website

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    Eхcellent sіtе you have here but I was wanting tо knoω if yοu kneω of anу ԁisсussiοn
    boarԁs thаt covеr the ѕamе tοpics discussed here?
    I'd really like to be a part of community where I can get advice from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Thanks a lot!

    Feel free to visit my site: http://www.sfgate.com/business/prweb/article/V2-Cigs-Review-Authentic-Smoking-Experience-or-4075176.php

    Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    Hoωdy! I knοω thіѕ іs ѕomеωhаt off topіc but I was ωondering which blog
    рlatform are уou uѕing for this wеbsite?
    ӏ'm getting sick and tired of WordPress because I'vе
    had issues wіth hackeгs and I'm looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

    my page … http://Demilamores.Ning.Com/Profile/MeridithWeathers

    Like

Leave a Reply

