FOTD: What Season is it Again?

You know, I’ve been looking forward to getting my summer makeup out for a while. Quick, easy makeup. Makeup that doesn’t take up much room in your luggage when you go travelling. That goes on and you can forget about all day.

Whilst it is practically still winter, I started rediscovering some of these products this weekend. My face is hayfever rashy so I went hunting through my collection to find some products that didn’t require a base.

MAC Viva Glam Nicki – lightly pressed into lips

Avon Colourtrend Shimmering Lip and Cheek Balm – Powder Pink

Left – heavily swatched. Right – blended out.

MaxFactor Liquid Effect Pencil – Black Fire

Products Used

Collection 2000 lasting perfection concealer in light 2
Smashbox photo op under eye brightener
Avon colourtrend shimmering lip and cheek balm in powder pink
MaxFactor liquid effect pencil in black fire
MaxFactor false lash effect mascara in brown/black
MAC eyebrow pencil in fling
MAC viva glam nicki lipstick
This look uses hardly any product and is super easy to just pop on. The Avon lip and cheek balm is no longer sold by Avon but is available on eBay, I’m definitely going to look around and buy another one. I swipe a thick streak across my cheek bones then blend out with either fingers or the Real Techniques contour brush. It is a great colour and works well on both lips and cheeks. Having used this product, this is what I was expecting the NARS multiple to be like. Not so…
The MaxFactor liquid effect pencil I love. Its goes on really well with no dragging. The buffer at the other end of the product is great for smudging it out and it stays in place really well. It took me about 30 seconds to draw my lines in, smudge them out and use the point of the buffer with the product leftover from smudging to create a little flick. Quick, easy, looks good and relatively cheap – yep, that ticks my boxes!
New purchase alert: MAC’s viva glam nicki – I really like this. Above you can see a quite muted look (that works amazingly with my cardie!) but you can also put it on heavily for a really dramatic look. I just love this, so glad I decided to buy.
Overall, this is definitely a look I would choose to wear on holiday. It doesn’t require many products (and no tools), you can put sunscreen on top of it all without any problems (except around the eyes… I find sunglasses help here) and you can easily turn it into a night time look with exactly the same products!
Fleur xoxo
Leave a Reply

