Jubilee Cakes!

I went to a Jubilee picnic today, it was absolutely lovely and the sun even managed to shine! I made these cakes to hand out to everyone and they went down a treat 🙂

I added a drop of food colouring to each of these then swirled with a skewer. I really like the effect.

I used my favourite ever cake recipe for this, slightly adapted as I wanted a vanilla sponge. Basically, instead of adding lemon zest to the sponge, I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. You can adapt this sponge to any flavour and it just works.

For the baking, as I made cupcakes instead of a large cake, I gave them 15-20 minutes, till golden brown on top.

Then instead of the lemon juice ‘icing’ I made a cream cheese icing of 2 parts cream cheese to 1 part icing sugar. So I used 250g cream cheese and 125g icing sugar. Again, I added a splash of vanilla extract to this.

To finish the cakes off I used blueberries and cut strawberries. Red, white and blue!

Fleur xoxo

Leave a Reply

