Review: Boots Simply Sensitive Anti-Redness Serum

Sometimes you don’t notice if a product is really helping your skin till you stop using it. Whilst with some you notice instantly. Either you wake up the next day and your skin just looks and feels amazing or you put it on and instantly you feel better. Others it is harder to tell. The effect builds up over time. So you don’t really think its actually doing anything. You think your skin is looking better… Or is it?

This was one of those products. When I received my April Glossybox, I received the Caudalie Vinosource SOS Thirst-Quenching Serum. So, I started using that instead of the Boots serum. As I use serum daily on my cheeks for extra moisture I thought it would be a good place to try out this new serum. Well, it was okay. I think the Caudalie serum works best at night layered all over the skin under moisturiser (which leaves your skin super hydrated and beautiful looking).

So, when the Caudalie serum ran out I went back to my Boots one. I instantly noticed the difference.

What does this claim to do? ‘This soothing serum is formulated to instantly calm irritable, red and sensitive skin. Used daily it will help improve your skin’s protective barrier and leave it feeling soft, smooth and comfortable.’


You know what, this stuff works. My skin throughout my entire life has had redness. The first makeup product I owned was a green concealer to slap on my cheeks in an attempt to calm the redness. I no longer use those concealers because I found I just ended up with a weird purple chalky cast to my face (not ideal).

So finding a product that actually reduces my redness and makes my skin feel happy is amazing. Also, I fully believe that prevention is better than a cure. This product miraculously prevents my cheeks from looking red and it even calms what looks like broken capillaries on the bridge of my nose.

At £4.99 for 30ml (or at the moment its in the 3 for 2 offer) this isn’t going to break the bank. It comes in tasteful packaging, I must admit I was impressed with the cardboard box it came in, it gave it a more luxurious feel. Whilst simple, the tube means its hygienic and it doesn’t look offensive. You can buy this product from Boots.

This is a pretty much perfect product for me and I’m definitely going to try some more products with aloe vera in, in future!

Fleur xoxo

Leave a Reply

