Review: Rimmel London Wake Me Up Foundation

I’ve been on a bit of a hunt for a new foundation recently. Sure, I love my Laura Mercier tinted moisturiser a lot. Its just great for every day wear. However, there are nights when I don’t really need or want the SPF and then some days when I just need that little bit more coverage.

I ran out of the MAC foundation I was using. Frankly it was no longer working on my skin anyway – so I wasn’t devastated when I hit pan. It might have had a bit too much oil build up from dipping my foundation brush in it :/ I’m not always the best at cleaning my brushes all the time… I’m trying to get better!!!

I also didn’t really want to be spending out a lot of money on products I didn’t know would work on my skin. I’d already had a botched attempt with the Bourjois healthy mix foundation (which I have now, finally, managed to get to work for me!).

I received a sample of the wake me up foundation in a magazine. One of those mini samples they glue in. It wasn’t the right shade for me but I liked the formulation enough to go back and buy one in the right shade for me. It appears giving samples does work… In fact, this is the second Rimmel foundation I have bought on the basis of trying a sample from a magazine. Well done Rimmel!

Anyway! Onto the actual review!

Without makeup
After application of the foundation with the Real Techniques buffing brush
After powdering down with MAC mineralize skinfinish natural in light 

A picture speaks a thousand words and I think you can see the result of this foundation above.

You can see that my skin is naturally quite pigmented. This foundation hides everything, whilst not looking like I am wearing too much foundation at all. It covers any blemishes and patches of skin that look less healthy well.

I don’t often feel the need for much in the way of concealer after using this. It gives a luminosity to the skin without (after powdering) leaving my skin looking oily. It stays on the skin well. I do use this with a setting spray (to be reviewed soon, I’m just editing the photos!) but even without it, it lasts a long time.

I wore this foundation when I walked my boy to the station for his train back to Manchester after last time he visited me. I managed to cry all my mascara off, mop my face repeatedly with tissues and I still had a fair coat of foundation (except around my eyes) on. I was really impressed.

I was also impressed that when I asked my mum what she thought of my foundation the first few times I tried this. She asked me ‘you’re wearing foundation?’. Whilst not sheer, this is a perfect colour match for me and it blends in perfectly. So it leaves my face looking amazing. Yet not looking like I’m wearing foundation. Perfection.

Fleur xoxo

Leave a Reply

