Review: Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish

I don’t know how I feel about writing this. Part of me thinks there is no need for bad reviews – just talk about the things you love and if no-one talks about a product then maybe its not great? I don’t know. There are some products that everyone seems to adore. This is one of those. Would it be good for me to add my voice to the discussion? To say actually for me, for my skin, right now, this doesn’t work. I’m not saying it won’t work for you. I’m not saying its a bad product. I’m merely saying that for me, its not right. Do try it, maybe for you it will work as amazingly as it has for all those other bloggers out there. Maybe it wont.

So, this is a product I was desperate to try again. It has the best reviews pretty much across the board. Everyone seems to absolutely adore it and not want to live without it. Having received the full sized product with a magazine subscription when I was a fair bit younger (think 6 years or so ago, I think I was using it around the time of my school prom…) I had tried it before. I remember really liking it then. So when I saw you received a sample with last months Red magazine – I jumped at the opportunity.

I initially started using it as a morning cleanser – as that is what I’m currently hunting for. This did not work at all. It left my skin feeling greasy and I was ridiculously shiny by the end of the day. I tried it both with the hot cloth and without. I did not like the hot cloth – I found it far too abrasive for my skin. I felt like my skin was raw and itchy after using it. I did enjoy applying it with my Soap and Glory massage mitt however, this felt so nice. In fact the second time (and most times after) I used it I applied it with this and loved it so, so much. I was really hoping it would be an ideal product for me because of this.

I then started breaking out. I have the worst set of spots I’ve had in a really long time. Using this cleanser was the only thing I changed in my routine. So many spots.

As using it in the morning wasn’t working, I decided to try it at night. To see if I preferred it to my Shu Uemura cleansing oil. Also because I wanted to give it a fair trial. Maybe it would work in the evening.

Nope. I just didn’t feel like my skin was clean. I couldn’t seem to get all the product off my face. I still didn’t appreciate the hot cloth (especially as it didn’t feel hygienic. I’d need a clean cloth for each wash). I also started waking up in the morning and my skin felt oily. My spots kept on coming. I tried double cleansing with it and my foaming cleanser but that didn’t really help. I also started to feel really itchy and my skin became red and bumpy (almost rash like). That’s not a good look and its definitely a bad sign.

I stopped using it.

I passed it to my mum, who has super sensitive, dry skin. I thought it might work better for her – plus its always good to try mew products right? The instant she put it on it started itching and brought her out in a rash. She had a bright red face all morning where she had reacted with it. Oh.

Maybe I got a dodgy sample but this did not work at all for either my mum’s or my skin. I’m assuming there is some ingredient in there that we are both sensitive to. Even so, I wont be trying a hot cloth cleanser again. I don’t like the cloth and the product is just too thick for my skin. I don’t need a break out like the one I’ve got. I’m so glad I was trying a sample free with a magazine – that I didn’t go out and buy the full size.

Sorry this is a really long post. I just wanted to explain exactly what happened so I wasn’t giving you a bad review without backing it up. I hope you don’t mind the negative tone, I just felt it was important to have different views out there. Everyone is different and I think it is important to not lose sight of that when reading reviews.

Have you tried anything on super recommendations that turned out to not work for you? I’m sure I can’t be alone in this…

Love xoxo

Leave a Reply

