FOTD and (brief) Review: NYC Hot Couture palette and Pixi tinted brilliance balm

No longer numbered! As it is not the Easter hols anymore I’m not trying to do a different face every day – which is actually quite sad. I was enjoying it but its just not practical for when I’m at work. I will try to do one a week minimum though 🙂 I managed 10 out of 16 days over the hols, which I think isn’t half bad! Anyway, I did this look on Saturday when I was going out to a lecture – it has an OOTD to go with it which I will put up later (you get a sneak peek in the photographs below)!

Hello little bit of a highlight!

Products used:
Face:
Rimmel London wake me up foundation in 103 true ivory
Collection 2000 lasting perfection concealer in light 2
MAC mineralize skin finish natural in light
MAC sheertone blush in blushbaby
Eyes:
All from NYC hot couture palette:
Browbone: white-grey shade – labelled ‘highlight’
All over lid: pink shade – labelled ‘all over lid’
Crease: purple shade – labelled (yes you guessed it) ‘crease’
Line along top lashes: sparkly black shade – ‘contour’
MaxFactor false lash effect mascara
Lips:
Pixi tinted brilliance balm in bitten berry
So, this FOTD used a lot of my new products 🙂 the Rimmel wake me up foundation – I liked the magazine sample so much I went out and bought myself the shade suitable for my skin tone. Still loving it.
The NYC palette really impressed me. It had good pigmentation levels – not as good as the MAC shadows but hey – the whole palette cost £2.99… I thought the colours were great, worked well together, blended well. On the whole I enjoyed using this palette. The size also means it is quite easy to pop in a handbag or take travelling – which I will be doing. You have the colours to create either an easy every day look as well as a full on night time look right here. I also love the plastic cover slip with where you should use each shade written on it. I’d say this would also be great for people who want to dip a toe into bright shades – or pink eyeshadow – without the price commitment. 
Pixi tinted brilliance balm 🙂 I adore the packaging. Bad I know to choose a product based on this… BUT I did want a berry shade and this one is pretty much perfection. It has a lovely minty scent, the colour stays well on the lips almost staining them. It doesn’t dry the lips, I think because it is in the form of a balm. The pen shape makes it easy to apply precisely. I’m enjoying using this and debating getting this product in other shades!
Hope you enjoyed this look and my brief reviews of the palette and balm 🙂
Fleur xoxo
Leave a Reply

