What I take with me on trips away

This is something I find fascinating, looking at what people take with them on their travels. So, when I was unpacking I thought I would show you the things I took with me. The things I add to my handbag, the things I just have in my bag, the toiletries I take and the make-up I take. Obviously if I’m travelling abroad and can only take hand luggage some of these things will change slightly. For example I won’t have the super long hair clip in my makeup bag…

These are things I just have in my bag: A travel hair dryer and a pair of slippers that just roll up. The bags are dry bags. They’re great for travelling as they squish everything up smaller and compartmentalise it all. So, I take one of the little green bags for my underwear and a spare to put dirty undies in (perfect too as it contains any smells). Then when I get home I can just empty it out into the wash. Then just wash and air the bag.

What I add to my handbag: Glucose tablets (always great when you need to run for a train / you r train gets cancelled), rail card (whoop), Chanel coco mademoiselle handbag refill, alcohol hand sanitiser, iPod and headphones and my Kindle (heart).

This is my makeup bag (and make-up), obviously this changes on a trip-by-trip basis… Some of it does stay the same.

Clockwise from top left: Laura Mercier tinted moisturiser, Boots Simply Sensitive serum, Boots protect and perfect serum, Collection 2000 lasting perfection concealer, Smashbox photofinish primer, eyelash curlers, MaxFactor false lash effect mascara, MAC eyeshadow quad (naked lunch, kid, handwritten and hoodwinked), kirby grips, MAC eyeliner in teddy, MAC eyebrow pencil in fling, eyebrow brush, spare earrings and a hair clip.
This is my make-up bag and brushes: I have 2 powder brushes, one angled  eyeshadow brush, one fluffy blending brush and stubby eyeshadow brush. 

These are a bit more random, I tend to buy products to try out when I go on holiday – rather than  filling up little containers with the products I usually use. Its the perfect way to properly try something out. The basics are the same though: shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, body lotion, hair spray, face wipes, face wash, face cream (night and day), toner, tooth paste, toothbrush. deodorant and a razor. When I’m really tight on space I will take all purpose soap instead of the shampoo, shower gel and face wash.

Hope that has been interesting for you. What I have shown you is what I take when there is little in the way of limits on what I can take. I still try to keep it compact though.

What is your ‘must have’ for travelling?

Love, Fleur xoxo

2 thoughts on “What I take with me on trips away

  1. Clodz says:

    THANK YOU:) I am in the process of packing for a school trip (yeoww) Problem is I haven't a clue what to take with me. Perfect post at the moment! 🙂 xoxo

    Like

  2. Fleur says:

    It is SO hard! It took me years to work out what I would actually use whilst on holiday and what I just wouldn't. Also, learning to tailor what you take to the holiday you are going on… I took hair straighteners camping one year, so useful when you have no-where to plug them in!

    What I do now is think about how long I'm going for, what I'm going to be doing and what the weather is likely to be like. Then pack the minimum before adding in one extra jumper and one trousers/skirt/shorts. Plus making sure I could wear anything I take with anything else I take because then I have way more outfits than I think I have… This generally works. I did a 10 day trip last summer with about 10 items of clothing!

    Things I ALWAYS forget: PJ's, toothbrush and deodorant. Always… Oh and sunglasses when its a hot holiday. If its a holiday when I don't end up using them, I always remember them. All bar one pair of sunglasses I own have been bought at an airport when I got there and realised 'whooooops, I forgot them again. ARGH.'.

    Good luck with the packing and have a great trip! 🙂
    xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

