Face of the Day #7

So, apart from the fact I’m wearing actual foundation (normally I’d be wearing my Laura Mercier tinted moisturiser), this is the make-up I wear to work. I work in a school, so I try to keep it pretty toned down. Mainly because I feel with the students having a no make-up rule it would be pretty unprofessional of me to go in with super stand-out make-up. So, its all neutrals, a pretty no-make-up-make-up-look.

Trying to show you my eyeline.

Adoring the light in this photo

Do excuse my North Face fleece. I love it, its so comfortable and I’m not leaving the house atm…

The lady I work with (who is the nicest person ever btw) thinks this is a really ‘made up’ look. Maybe I’ve spent too much time in the north of England recently, too near Liverpool and Newcastle (see Desperate Scousewives and Geordie shore if you’re confused about what I mean…) but I think this is a pretty natural look… So, how did I achieve it?

Firstly, I used my Rimmel wake me up foundation sample in 200.  I will do a separate review of this at another point.

I then used my Collection 2000 lasting perfection concealer on my under eye area. I didn’t need to use it round my nose or on my chin as the foundation had covered them!

I then filled in my eyebrows with my MAC fling eyebrow pencil and brushed them into shape.

I used my smashbox primer on my eyelids before applying a thin layer of MAC’s naked lunch eyeshadow all over the lid using my Topshop stubby eyeshadow brush. I then used the same brush to apply MAC’s kid into my crease. I took my Ruby and Millie angled eyeshadow brush and applied a thin line of MAC’s sumptuous olive to my upper lashline. I finished my eyes off by curling my lashes and layering MaxFactors false lash effect mascara onto the top and bottom lashes.

I used my Becca lip and cheek tint in watermelon on my apples, blending out to my hairline. Then using my Soap and Glory kabuki brush I buffed my Bobbi Brown illuminating bronzer across my cheek bones, into my temples, down my nose and a dab on the chin. This really gives my face a bit of a life.

I finished it off with a slick of my L’Oreal rouge caresse in nude ingenue on my lips.

What do you think of this look? I really like it for an easy, every day, classy, don’t even have to think about it look. I mix it up a little bit by varying the line colour (using either MAC’s handwritten or hoodwinked instead). The colours I’m using are pretty classic and most high street brands do their version of this three colour browny-neutral look. I’m also trialling the MaxFactor cream blush as an alternative to the Becca, so far I am liking it a lot.

Love, Fleur xoxo

Leave a Reply

