Face of the Day #2

So, this is my second FOTD. We’ll start with the photo’s and then I’ll explain how I achieved it!

Love this.

Just couldn’t get the right angle to show you this – but you can kind of see the shading.

First, I started by applying my Bourjois healthy mix foundation in the shade 52, with my real techniques buffing brush. I used quite a lot today as I wanted a relatively heavy base, my skin wasn’t looking its best.

I then used my collection 2000 lasting perfection concealer (light 2), dotted on parts of my chin, round my nose and under my eyes. I used the Real Techniques concealer brush to smooth it round then lightly buffed over it with the same buffing brush.

I used my Smashbox photofinish primer on my eyelids to hold my eyeshadow.

I used my same buffing brush to buff MAC mineralize skinfinish natural in light on top of my foundation.

I then brushed my eyebrows out and used an angled brush from Ruby and Millie to brush MAC’s Omega eyeshadow through then to fill in the gaps and give a more defined shape. I’m still getting used to using powder on my eyebrows but I do like the finish.

I then started on the eyes. Using a MAC 224 brush. Which is great for both (relatively) controlled application and blending. Also, because it is a bit on the large side you get some product automatically below the eye. This takes some practice not to cover your face in shadow but once masters I think it gives a lovely effect really easily.

I applied the MAC shadow Freshwater to the inner half of my eye up to the crease. I put quite a lot of product on, really making it intense. To the outer half of the eye I applied MAC’s Stars ‘N’ Rockets, again adding a lot of product to make the colour really intense up to the crease.

I then blended really well, all the way up to the brow bone and out further. I did a final bit of blending on the outer rim of colour using a Lancome large fluffy brush (I think its a small powder brush, there isn’t a number on the brush).

Into the crease I then added a whisper of MAC’s Satellite Dreams for a little bit of definition.

I curled my eyelashes and applied MaxFactor false lash effect mascara to top and bottom lashes. About three coats to each.

Into my waterline I used a MAC 209 brush to put a line of Fluidline in the colour Waveline (clarifying that as the names are confusing!). It’s a deep purple and great when black is too harsh.

I then used my Ruby and Millie powder brush to brush away any loose powder.

I then used MAC’s powder blush in Fleur Power (BEST NAME EVER) on the apples of my cheeks and blended back to the hairline. This blush was a birthday gift from my friend Holly. Such an amazing gift 🙂 Thank you again! It’s literally the cutest blush ever – perfect for this look.

On my lips I used Collection 2000’s cream puff moisturising lip cream in the colour powder puff 2 for a neutral lip. I’d rather have had a stronger finish with a lipstick (perhaps MAC’s Hue would have been good here) but currently I own no nude lipsticks. 

I finished by dusting a last bit of powder over any places that were still a tiny bit shiny as I wanted a matte look.

Hope you enjoyed this look as much as I did! It’s very easy to tone up or tone down. For evening you could add another slick of the waveline above the lashes. For a easier daytime look go for a less matte, more natural base and keep the eyeshadows over a smaller area of the eyelid.

Tomorrow I’m hoping to do a ‘sexy’ summery bronzed look. The day after I’ve found a photo on twitter of my favourite model in the most beautiful classic makeup that I’m going to try to copy. We’ll see how this goes!

Love Fleur xoxo

Leave a Reply

