GLOSSYBOX February and March Boxes

I’ve been loving receiving my Glossyboxes. I think the concept is a really good one. There are a lot of products I would love to try but as they are rather expensive I’m not going to spend money buying them unless I know they are good. Trying something in a shop is great but sometimes you want to see how it works over a few days. What its like if you apply it yourself. Whether the scent starts to annoy you after a while. For that you really need a sample. These cost £10 plus £2.95 P+P for (usually) 5 samples. Which, if you think about it isn’t that bad. Think about when you go on holiday and stock up on those little travel size bottles from your local Boots/Superdrug. They cost about £2 each, for high street brands. Well, these sample sizes, of high end products aren’t costing much more than that. I think that’s a bit of a bargain.

So here are my reviews of the boxes I have received so far:

The February (Fashion Week) box:

1. Becca – Beach Tint Watermelon

I really like this, it is quite a creamy natural blush. It looks great on both the cheeks and lips. It’s easy to apply and blend. You can’t feel it on the skin. It’s great over tinted moisturiser with a slick of mascara and tinted lipgloss for an easy relaxed weekend look. I will be repurchasing this when I’ve finished my sample.

2. Dr Bronner – Lavender Hand Sanitiser

I quite like hand sanitisers, particularly for travelling. This one is really refreshing, smells amazing and doesn’t dry the skin out. Perfect. My only problem is the spray pump. Great if you’re applying it to someone else’s hands. Not so easy when trying to do your own. I probably wouldn’t re-buy this for that reason. I’m very rarely with someone – so only need it for me and this is fiddly. If I manage to get the knack of it I definitely would though. So…

3. Awapuhi By Paul Mitchell – Wild Ginger Treatment Oil

I really dislike the smell of this. Really dislike. I almost didn’t try it I disliked it that much. Once you get past that it is a good product. I don’t really need it and certainly wouldn’t use it in daytime as my hair is short and on the side of greasy rather than dry. However, as a night treatment which I wash out in the morning, it’s great. It leaves my hair silky soft and glossy. I won’t be buying this due to the scent but I will be checking out other hair oils in future.

4. BM Beauty – Pure Mineral Eyeshadow

Okay, the colour I was given was this weird orangey-pink, maybe great on someone. That person is not me. So I’m reviewing this purely on staying power and formulation. Firstly, I have NEVER had so much mess trying to apply something. Maybe in the real product the packaging stops this but it went everywhere UGH. It didn’t sit well on my skin, creasing almost immediately. It also oxidised quite strangely – which I’m not used to happening with an eyeshadow. Overall, I was very disappointed with this product. I tried it twice and binned it.

5. Como Shambala – Invigorate Shower Gel

This smelt AMAZING. It really woke me up, I could even smell it when I had a cold and felt awful – it instantly made me feel better. This was also great for my dry skin. It left it feeling soft and conditioned – not stripped and painful like some shower gels can. I was even able to go without using body lotion after showering! I will probably re-buy this for holidays. As a luxurious treat for when I’m away from home. Also because using this I won’t need to take a body lotion along too – leaving more room for essential make-up items!

The March (Harrods Edition) box:

1. Valentino – Valentina Eau de Parfum

I loved this scent, it was just gorgeous. Very floral but not too sweet. Go try it!

2. Molton Brown – Vitalising Vitamin A B + C Bath + Shower

I found this stripped my skin quite badly. It smells great and would probably be perfect for people with normal-oily skin. Unfortunately not so great for me.

3. SKII – Skin Signature

This is a lovely, lightweight super conditioning formula. It just works, leaving skin looking and feeling really cared for. However, it is only available at Harrods or Harrods online, so not that easy to get. I probably wouldn’t buy this – it is an anti-ageing formula and I don’t need that just yet. There are cheaper products I like better.

4. Lancome – Hypnose Drama Mascara

I liked this. I’m not sure I like it as much as my Max Factor mascaras though. I’m in the middle of taking photos of me in all my different mascaras which I will do a post on at some point in the near future. So wait for that for my opinion of this.

5. Clarins – Extra-Firming Body Cream

I thought this left my skin looking in good condition. It wasn’t quite conditioning enough for me and I ended up using the 30ml sample in 3 days – ouch! Also, I don’t really need my skin ‘firming’ yet, just not old enough. So this was a slightly irrelevant product. If I was going to use it I would probably use a normal moisturiser in the morning and put this on ‘problem areas’ before I went to bed.

6. Shu Uemura – Cleansing Beauty Oil

I LOVED this. Cannot get enough of it and I have already bought it. It left my skin feeling super soft, hydrated, clean, translucent just generally a better version of its normal self. I wasn’t expecting to like this, on the contrary I was expecting to hate it. I gave it a go only because it was there and I felt I had to. I’m so glad I did. My skin has never felt or looked better. I’m very excited to own it. Sure it’s pretty expensive – £28 for 150ml. It took my 7 days to use my 4ml sample. So I’m hoping that whilst its a large initial outlay the product will last me a long time.

So that is my review of the products I received. I hope you enjoyed hearing what I thought of them!

Love Fleur,

xoxo

Leave a Reply

